County Junior League – Final Results

 County Junior League  Comments Off on County Junior League – Final Results
May 162014

This season’s county junior league was fiercely contested and it was pleasing to see the county’s top juniors all competing.

After 4 rounds Gloucester ran out as winners with Stroud second, Cheltenham third and Cirencester fourth. Gloucester’s strength in depth proved to be the decisive factor although they were pushed all the way by Stroud who faltered at the finish when Billy Shilton was unavailable due to International duty. Olly Tyndall was the only boy to achieve 100% record, although it is good to see that every boy who competed recorded at least one victory.

It was disappointing that only Gloucester and Stroud were able to field girls in every round this season and I hope that the other leagues will be able to address this issue before next season.

Thanks go to all the team captains for their help with running this season’s CJL and also to Janie Kirby who assisted me and also ran the final round in my absence. Thanks also to Les Smith for providing the medals.

Graham Slack
Gloucestershire Table Tennis Association Chairman

County Closed Championships

 County Closed Championships  Comments Off on County Closed Championships
May 162014

The Gloucestershire Closed was held at Deer Park on Sunday 11 May 2014.

50 players entered (40 males; 10 females) and this enabled the majority of events to be run initially on a group basis to give each player as many matches as possible.

The big winners on the day were Ann Barnes and Dave Harvey who won 3 titles each, including the singles crowns.

Harvey rolled back the years in the Men’s Singles although he was pushed to the limit by Abu Saleh in the quarter finals just scraping through 14-12 in the fifth game. Harvey then defeated William Dawe in four games in the semi-final. The other half of the draw saw Gordon Shaw and Olly Tyndall meet in the semi-final. Rising star Tyndall saw off his more experienced opponent in straight games to set up a final clash with Harvey who is 50 years his senior. Tyndall took a tight first game but Harvey fought back to take an equally close second game before taking the next two games comfortably to secure the title.

The Ladies semi-finals saw Christine Williams beat Kim Selfe in straight games, whilst Ann Barnes defeated Lesley Slack also in straight games. The final saw the top two seeds meet and it turned into a comfortable victory for Barnes who retained the title she won last year.

The Men’s doubles saw comfortable semi-final victories for William Dawe and Gordon Shaw over Olly Tyndall and Ben Glover, and for Dave Harvey and Abu Saleh against George Evans and Stewart Ratcliffe. Harvey and Saleh emerged triumphant in the final in four games.

The Ladies doubles was played as a round robin with four pairs competing. The winners were Ann Barnes and Lesley Slack who were unbeaten although they were pushed to 11-9 in the final game by the mother and daughter pair Carol and Emily Philp. Runners up were Christine Williams and Jane Leigh on count back after all the other three pairs won one match each.

The mixed doubles was very competitive throughout the competition. Ann Barnes and William Dawe defeated Jane Leigh and Ben Roberts in one semi-final whilst Lesley Slack and Dave Harvey saw off Christine Williams and Chris Varley in the other. The final was a very close affair with Barnes and Dawe winning 11-7 in the final game.

The Minor singles saw lots of very close matches. Kim Selfe reached the final with a 4 set victory over George Evans, and Stewart Ratcliffe defeated Ed Birt in straight games to set up a clash of the mixed doubles partners. Ratcliffe eventually ran out as winner 11-8 in the final game.

Dave Harvey added the Veterans title to his haul of the day when he beat Andy Hurley in three games.

There was a surprise in the Veteran Ladies event when Debbie Quinlivin defeated top seed Christine Williams in 4 games in the semi-final. Kim Selfe beat Lesley Slack in the other semi-final and then went on to defeat Quinlivin in straight games in the final.

The Masters event was played on a round robin basis and William Dawe emerged as champion with Gordon Shaw finishing as runner-up.

A new event this year was the restricted singles for players who are too old to play in the junior events but too young to compete in the veterans. Top seed Abu Saleh defeated Otakar Klempt in straight games in the first semi-final whilst Nick Walker defeated second seed Ann Barnes in a titanic 5 set battle. Saleh then took the final in 4 games to claim the title.

The mixed under 11 singles was played as a round robin and was won by Stanley Shilton with Anna-Maria Besarabova in second place.

The boys under 13 singles was also played as a round robin and once again Shilton emerged as victor with Owen Havard claiming the runner-up position.

The girls under 15 singles had only two entries and Emily Philp defeated Anna-Maria Beasarabova in straight games.

The boys under 15 singles saw top seed Olly Tyndall beat Stanley Shilton in straight games and second seed Ben Glover scored a similar victory over Ed Birt. Tyndall then won the final in 4 games.

The same players reached the final of the boys under 18 singles. Tyndall scored a comfortable semi-final victory over Jamie Theyer, whilst Glover needed 4 games to defeat Ben Roberts. The final was again won by Tyndall in 4 games.

The junior doubles had only two pairs but the match was very tight with Jamie Theyer and Ben Tyndall defeating Ben Roberts and Sam Turner 13-11 in the final game.


Mixed U11 (Group of 3) Winner Stanley Shilton; runner-up Anna-Maria Besarabova
Boys U13 (Group of 4) Winner Stanley Shilton; runner-up Owen Havard
Girls U15 Emily Philp beat Anna-Maria Besarabova 6,6,6
Boys U15 Olly Tyndall beat Ben Glover 5,5,-4,6
Boys U18 Olly Tyndall beat Ben Glover 7,8,-9,7
Boys Doubles Jamie Theyer/Ben Tyndall beat Ben Roberts/Sam Turner 4,-7,5,-5,11
Mens Doubles Abu Saleh/Dave Harvey beat William Dawe/Gordon Shaw 5,-8,7,7
Ladies Doubles (Group of 4) Winners Ann Barnes/Lesley Slack; runners-up Christine Williams/Jane Leigh
Mixed Doubles Ann Barnes/William Dawe beat Lesley Slack/Dave Harvey -9,7,-5,8,7
Mens Singles Dave Harvey beat Olly Tyndall -9,9,5,6
Minor Singles Stewart Ratcliffe beat Kim Selfe 7,-10,-7,7,8
Ladies Singles Ann Barnes beat Christine Williams 5,4,6
Veteran Mens Singles Dave Harvey beat Andy Hurley 5,8,4
Veteran Ladies Singles Kim Selfe beat Debbie Quinlivin 4,6,6
Masters Singles (Group of 3) Winner William Dawe; runner-up Gordon Shaw
Restricted Singles Abu Saleh beat Nick Walker 6,-7,3,6

Thanks go to everyone who helped on the day to ensure the event ran smoothly.

Graham Slack
Gloucestershire Table Tennis Association Chairman

Gloucestershire Closed Championships

 County Closed Championships  Comments Off on Gloucestershire Closed Championships
Mar 032014

This season it has been necessary to introduce a £5 entry fee for the county closed championships. This is a flat fee; not a fee per event.

You will note two new events (19 & 20) which are restricted singles. These events are open to players who are too old to enter the junior events but too young to enter the veterans events and we hope it will encourage more players to enter the tournament.

Finally, please note the closing date for entries which is 24 April 2014. No entries will be accepted after this date – this applies to all players from top county players to novices so please ensure your entry is sent in plenty of time.

I look forward to a bumper entry this season.

Graham Slack
Gloucestershire Table Tennis Association Chairman

Gloucestershire Closed Championships Entry Form